RSS

Summer Break is Upon Me, but not Quite

11 May

I don’t know why I decided to be a history/linguistics double major.  I guess because it at least required fewer papers than English?

 

Here’s my tribute to the end of the semester, and college papers in general:

 

Whose words these are I think I know.
My semester is long over, though;
I hate to see me sitting here
To fill my screen up, row by row.

My sluggish laptop must think it queer
To write without a due date near
Black words to paper’s hunger slake
But desp’rate failure’s lurking here.

He gives his letter’s keys a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the creep
Of deadlines which now make me quake.

My dreams are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And papers to write before I sleep,
And papers to write before I sleep.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Summer Break is Upon Me, but not Quite

  1. ellie

    May 18, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    This is great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
