RSS

I Don’t Normally Do Book Reviews, but…

01 Oct

Whenever you make a rule for yourself, there’s always going to be a “,but…”  No matter if it’s word count, books a year, limiting your research.  It doesn’t matter.  You can be the most organized, planned-out person in the world, and there will still be times when you come across an oppurtunity that is too good to pas up.

For this post, the rule in question is that I don’t do book reviews.  I have written a very few reviews of things, books and otherwise, and while some of them may have been good, it’s just not something I’m good at.  Also, I have so many other things to do, or even to just write, that doing any sort of regular book reviewing would be an enormous dissruption to my schedule.  And of course, I only buy paperbacks, and I make a small number of large buys a year.  I don’t have time to officially work my way into being an arc reviewer, either.  Finally, I’m terrible at not giving spoilers, because I don’t mind them all that much myself.  I’d prefer not to see them, but it doesn’t destroy the story for me if I do. 

So, I try to avoid the temptation to review things.

But, then one of those oppurtunities came along:  Rachel Aaron was having a giveaway to celebrate the release of her book, The Spirit Thief over on The Magic District.  I read the blog all the time, so of course I wanted to read the book, and support Rachel.  I’ve just recently caught up with the last 400 posts of my blog reading, and I was lucky enough to catch up just in time for this giveaway.  Twenty people were going to come away with a free, autographed copy of this book, and I haven’t read any books for the past two months.  (I love my college, but it’s in the middle of nowhere, and I hate Amazon.)  So I threw my name in the hat, and out of 28 entries, I was one of those picked.  Not tough really, since there was about a 75% chance of winning.

One of the caveats of this giveaway was that it wwas promotional.  In order to enter, I had to promise to post a review of the book somewhere online.  Now, I don’t use Amazon(though I have an account), LibraryThing, or GoodReads, so that just left my blog.  So, sometime in the next week or so, I’m going to be posting a review of this book.  I anticipate a fantastic read, and I’ll try not to give away too much in the throes of my enthusiasm.

Other days,

Atsiko

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in atsiko, Authors, Books, Fantasy, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I Don’t Normally Do Book Reviews, but…

  1. Arlee Bird

    October 1, 2010 at 6:13 PM

    No spoilers! Book reviews are as subjective to the reader of the review as the reviewer is subjective about the book being reviewed. There are many professional reviews that I don’t particularly like, and many reviews on blogs and places like Amazon that nail it right for me. I think the main thing is tell what you thought about the book and why. Then it should be just fine.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

     
    • atsiko

      October 1, 2010 at 8:04 PM

      Yeah, I won’t spoil anything. I feel kind of odd, since I dont have a lot of followers and don’t often do reviews. It seems a waste of promo copies, but whatever.

       
  2. Nelly

    October 1, 2010 at 11:14 PM

    You should spoil. People may want to read it. You can review without not spoiling

     
    • atsiko

      October 2, 2010 at 12:46 AM

      Er… Eh?

       
  3. bigwords88

    October 3, 2010 at 8:58 AM

    It doesn’t matter how many followers a blog has, how the blog content is normally positioned, nor how well known the reviewer is – the only thing I really have strong opinions about regarding reviews is that the level of quality in the book is gauged accurately. “Is this better than something else in the same genre” isn’t a great question to ask yourself whilst reading, but it does make you think harder about the plot, characters and overall tone.

    A good review, even if it is written in an obscure publication with minimal readership, can have the same effect on sales as a blitzkrieg advertising campaign is the words chosen by the reviewer are passionate enough. There were a few book reviews back in the nineties (which only ever appeared in small press titles with readership numbers in the low hundreds) that utterly convinced me to buy the books.

    There are those of us who have voracious reading appetites, and need to be fed a steady stream of brilliant words and excellent works.

     
  4. Rustam

    October 3, 2010 at 4:11 PM

    Very nice.
    I will be you subscribe ) Thanks !

     

Leave a Reply

 
