RSS

More Things Atsiko Hates About Blogging: Content Summaries

05 Aug

I hate ’em.  I do not want to see the three most fascinating sentences in the entire blogosphere in my reader and then see:

 “[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]”

 

Because then I will hate your guts.  I got a feedreader for a reason, and seeing those words was not it.  I might go to your blog anyway, because those were the three most awesome sentences in the entire blogosphere.  But I will still hate your guts.

Every little thing you do to make it less convenient for me to read your blog is filed away in the back of my mind, and when it comes time to clean out my blog reader, guess whose blog will be first on the “drop” list?  No prizes for the correct answer.

Atsiko out.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2010 in atsiko, Blogging

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “More Things Atsiko Hates About Blogging: Content Summaries

  1. Arlee Bird

    August 5, 2010 at 6:03 AM

    I don’t recall ever seeing this, but it would piss me off too. I got places to go and things to do. Don’t waste my time.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

     
    • atsiko

      August 5, 2010 at 6:25 AM

      I really hate to keep bashing Magical Words, but that’s the place that first pulled this crap on me.

       
  2. Nicole Grotepas

    August 5, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    I totally agree. It’s really irritating that they do that just to get more site traffic. If I want to go to the blog and leave a comment, I’ll go, even if I can read the whole post in my reader. Otherwise, why be so obvious about your desperation for more page hits? 🙂

     
    • atsiko

      August 5, 2010 at 6:16 PM

      Well, if you have a lot of adds, or if you want to justify the time spent, page hits are important, but it’s still annoying.

       
  3. zt

    August 6, 2010 at 9:53 PM

    I have been curious about something: does the blog owner get statistics about how many people are reading their blog via a feedreader? Beyond driving advertising, it seems like there would be value in bringing people to the site to get an idea of how many actual readers you have, which stories tend to be more popular, etc. I don’t know whether you can get this data without actual page visits (I don’t blog and haven’t looked into it).

     
    • atsiko

      August 6, 2010 at 11:29 PM

      I have no idea. I’ve seen feedreaders given as referal addresses on my blog, but I don’t believe I have ever gotten a pageview or something when someone read a post of mine in a reader.

       

Leave a Reply

 
