RSS

Bloggers I Wish I Was

09 Apr

One of the best parts about becoming active in the blogosphere, or, more specifically, the authosphere, is meeting all the awesome people follwoing the same track, published or unpublished.  One of the worst parts about becoming active in the blogoshphere, or, more specifically, the authosphere, is meeting all the awesome people following the same track, published or unpublished.  If there’s one thing that can drive home the dismal chances of a writer beating out the pack for publication, it’s seeing what the pack really looks like. 

 There are quite a few published authors with impressive and thriving blogs and their surrounding communities:  John Scalzi at Whatever, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, and also the folks at Deadline Dames, Magical Words, and The Magic District.  There’s also Lauren Oliver, Justine Larbelestier, and Carrie Ryan.  And that’s just the people I’ve looked at recently.

For the unpubs, we have: Sierra Godfrey, CKHB, and many, many more.

So, I’m definitely in great company here.  I guess the title is a bit isleading I would love to reach the same level as any of the people on that list.

Now, I have to admit, competing against these people is scary.  A lot of them write in different genres than I do, but considering the number of people not on my list, I think it’s safe to assume that there are just as many fantastic writers in my genres, published or not.  And while writing is not a head-on-collision sort of competition, there’s limited space on the lists of agents and publishers, so to an extent, someone else getting published means I have less of a chance.  And just wait ’til we’re talking about the marketplace.  I can read a few hundred books a year, and that’s not even scratching the surface of published material out there.

So, yeah, the authosphere is a very scary place, but I’m enjoying it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2010 in atsiko, Authors, Blogging

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Bloggers I Wish I Was

  1. bigwords88

    April 9, 2010 at 8:31 PM

    So, so many people whose names could have been added here. Neil Gaiman and William Gibson are amazing authors, and are just as engaging reading their words online, and I would have felt compelled to name them right up front. I sorta-but-not-really agree that writing is a competitive act, as there are limited openings for publishers to accept untried authors, but at the same time I honestly believe that any success (however small) raises the entirety of the author’s sphere of influence. Everyone who spends time reading a writer’s blog, or spends time at the same writing forum, or merely following their Twitter feed, is boosted by the success of one who is considered a friend, acquaintance or peer (regardless of age).

    I’m rooting for everyone just as much as I am hoping that one of the crazy ideas I have can break through the barriers which seem to block the work in ways I don’t quite have a grasp on. The fact that the online community is so supporting (in many ways that real interaction doesn’t provide) is one more point proving that there is real interest in the ways some people are pushing their way onto bookshelves. If it was entirely possible, I would read every book published by the people I interact with online. I wouldn’t get anything else done, but the work I’m seeing is unbelievably accomplished.

     
    • atsiko

      April 9, 2010 at 8:49 PM

      Oh, I root for everyone else, too. And if I followed Gaiman or Gibson regularly, I would have put their names up, too. I mean, I could name a lot more, especially if I thought about it. But I didn’t want to go overboard.

       
  2. Anne R. Allen

    April 9, 2010 at 10:54 PM

    I love the word “authosphere.” I’ve been trying to think of a name for it. It is indeed scary. Such vast herds of us out here. But it’s a great way to meet people of like mind, and I figure that’s worth something. I love Sierra’s and CKHB’s blogs, too. I started last year with Nathan Bransford’s blog and then started visiting blogs of people who made interesting comments. So many smart, funny people!

     
    • atsiko

      April 9, 2010 at 11:26 PM

      Yes, it’s great for discussion and comraderie. I go to Nathan’s blog a lot as well, but there’re usually too many comments for me to respond.

      There are a ton of great agent and publishing blogs out there, too, but I focused on writers for this post. I think you count, too. But I’d only recently come across your blog, so it wasn’t on the top of my mind when I was posting.

       
  3. Moses Siregar III

    April 12, 2010 at 8:56 PM

    I mentioned you on my blog today, Atsiko.

    Some of my other favorite authosphere blogs: JA Konrath, Dean Wesley Smith, Jim C Hines.

     
    • atsiko

      April 13, 2010 at 2:43 AM

      Thanks for the mention. I’ve been to all of those blogs and they are definitely awesome. Not subscribed, though, unfortunately. I think they would all count as “bloggers I wish I was”. 🙂

       
  4. Moses Siregar III

    April 12, 2010 at 10:42 PM

    Forgot to mention Daryl Gregory (hilarious) and the Clockwork Storybook blog that he contributes to.

     
    • atsiko

      April 13, 2010 at 2:44 AM

      I do actually subscribe to Daryl. Hilarious indeed. I also follow clockwork storybook. Don’t comment on either much, and I haven’t seen a lot of activity lately.

       

Leave a Reply

 
