RSS

Why I Hate Blogger

25 Jan

They’re at it again. No matter how many times I try to work it out, I can never understand why Blogger hates me so much. (Yes, I do think turn-about is fair play.) I get “OpenID errors” every third attempt to post a comment. The CAPTCHA only shows up one in every three times I try to comment–and of course Blogger won’t let you comment without one. Even when it does show up, it doesn’t always let me post my comment anyway. I despise that little window it opens sometimes. Why can’t they just use the damn box under all the other comments on the blog? I almost never have trouble with that. It seems like the fancier the template, the more obnoxious it is to use.

Now, on OpenID. I have a wordpress blog, so it only makes sense to use OpenID. I get a lot of traffic from my comments on other blogs. That’s not my sole reason for commenting—I only comment on articles I enjoy, and I try to add something to the discussion–but when you’re trying to get a new blog off the ground, that traffic is important. That means I don’t want to use my google account. Or my livejournal which is basically empty and which I have never used except for one post which I took down rather quickly. Sometimes I get lucky and there’s an “anonymous/URL” option. But most often, the sites where I have the most trouble don’t offer it. So I’m screwed.

I thought the whole point of OpenID was to facilitate communication, but apparently Blogger sees it as a way to makes things hard for people who don’t use Blogger. Which is said, because otherwise I like the services Google offers. But there’s a reason I picked wordpress for this blog, and now you know what it is.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2010 in atsiko, Blogging

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Why I Hate Blogger

  1. Gabriele

    January 25, 2010 at 6:47 PM

    The reason most bloggers disable anonymous comments at some point is to keep the trolls out. It was a reason for me as well. On your site, you’ll have to log in with a name and email, which makes it less fun for the wee trollings. 😉

    I didn’t know the OpenID causes trouble for some readers. But in that case why not just get a Blogger account (or a LJ one) and set up one post there with a link to your main blog. I klick the profile info of new commenters and that leads me to interesting new blogs, sometimes.

     
  2. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 7:03 PM

    Well, I’ve already got a login/password list a mile long, so I’m always hoping to avoid adding to it. It took me long enough to figure out wordpress, I do’t know if I’m up for working out how to use blogger just for that. Also, I don’t have the tech savvy to figure out how to sync this stuff up, and so just having one post and a note is adding an extra barrier between people coming to the blog and not.

    But now, blogger won’t even let me comment at all. I’m getting a “webpage cannot be found” notice where the comment box should be. I don’t know if that means it’s a more widespread issue this time, or if Blogger’s little geist saw this post and got _really_ ticked off at me. 😉

     
  3. Gabriele

    January 25, 2010 at 7:28 PM

    Setting up a Blogger account doesn’t take much work. You can just use the first template they offer and not bother about widgets such as Followers and all that jazz . But I hear you about the mile long password list. 🙂

    Website not found should be a temporary issue. I can access my blog just fine. *knocks on wood*

     
  4. Anonymous

    January 25, 2010 at 9:33 PM

    I’ve had a lot of grief with this, too–in fact today I can’t use Open ID to link to my WordPress blog from Blogger no matter how many times I try. So annoying. It used to work about every third try, like you said. Now not at all.

    And yes, I do have a Blogger ID, but it links to a defunct blog, and I’d rather link directly to my active blog.

     
  5. Anonymous

    January 25, 2010 at 9:34 PM

    Ha ha I forgot to link that last comment back to my WordPress blog. (Not that my WordPress blog bears any relation whatsoever to the topic of your post.)

     
  6. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 9:50 PM

    I can no longer comment on any Blogger blogs, although it seems that other people can–comments appear.

    It’s really annoying, and I don’t think getting a Blogger ID will help me out on this one. Goddess I love wordpress!

     
  7. Gabriele

    January 25, 2010 at 10:17 PM

    Have you tried emptying your cache? Mine tends to get cluttered (old laptop and all) and that has prevented me from commenting on blogs as well, and I usually don’t have trouble with that. 😉

     
  8. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    That cleared up the error message, but now I get a message saying “your OpenID credentials could not be verified”.

     
  9. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    And now the error message is back.

     
  10. Gabriele

    January 25, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    Damn, that really sucks.

    Blogger should find a better way for its members to deal with anonymous trolls. I want to be open for comments, but I don’t want to find any more half gnawed bones there.

     
  11. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 10:35 PM

    I usually let Askimet handle the spam, an periodiccally clean out the stuff that still ends up in my spam folder. If I notice that a lot comes from one post, I decide whether or not to disable comments.

    I had one Russian spambot slamming me on my “Comments Policy” page–ironic, ne? I’ve no idea why I left comments there in the first place, so I shut ’em down.

     
  12. Gabriele

    January 25, 2010 at 10:47 PM

    Blogger lets you delete any comment, and you can switch on Comment Moderation (I do that for posts older than 2 weeks mostly to see the comments that do come in on older posts), plus there’s a word verification to catch most spam bots. But the comment moderation is a bit of a hassle for the regular posters because they have to wait for the comment to appear, and deleting gnawed bones works only when I’m on my computer to find those. So I chose the Disable Anonymous Comments after I had two trollings fighting for their place under the bridge overnight. 🙂

    I was not aware that the OpenID doesn’t seem to work for everyone, because none of my regular visitors (also those from LJ, WordPress or whatever) had problems after I changed the settings. It’s just by chance that I came across this post on your blog which I’ve been following for some days now that I realised there IS a problem.

     
  13. atsiko

    January 25, 2010 at 11:11 PM

    Well, for the most part, OpenID works. I’ve only ever had problems with Blogger, and it’s only recently they’ve gotten really bad. Before that, a refresh usually fixed things.

     
  14. ralfast

    January 26, 2010 at 12:09 AM

    I had a Blogger blog which died this year from lack of use (i.e. I got tired of it and erased it). I also didn’t like the fact that using by Blogger ID lead people to a blog completely unrelated to my writing, which are all in wordpress.

    Also, while Blogger is more flexible in that you don’t have to pay extra to mess around with the template or what have you, wordpress is simpler to use and what it offers for free is good enough for me.

    I also had problems with Open ID, which means I am not a happy costumer when I come across it.

     
  15. Gabriele

    January 26, 2010 at 2:05 AM

    I prefer Blogger because I can do everything on code level, playing with the template and setting up my posts. Plus, photo upload is free, and I have lots of photos on my blog.

     
  16. atsiko

    January 26, 2010 at 2:34 AM

    Yeah, I’m not so good with code. Nor do I upload photos much. Perhaps if the blog grows enough, I’ll get the non-free version of wordpress and do something fancier.

     
  17. Gabriele

    January 26, 2010 at 3:00 AM

    I started coding back in the neolithicum when you still had to code every single tag by hand. I still prefer to screw up myself instead of letting blogger do it for me and then spend an hour trying to find the missing tag. 🙂

    My blog is part travel diary and part illustrated history essays, with some writing stuff thrown in, and I suspect it’s the photos that make people come back. 😉

     
  18. Gabriele

    January 26, 2010 at 3:40 AM

    On another note; had a look for links in your sidebar and noticed that the typo demon has eaten the -g- in The Magic District.

     
  19. atsiko

    January 26, 2010 at 3:44 AM

    Links fixed. Grazie.

     
  20. Dianna

    January 26, 2010 at 5:20 AM

    Atsiko,

    That sucks. A lot.

    What I do when commenting on blogger-based blogs is use my Google Account-but I recently changed my Google profile so that it pretty much just says ‘I don’t use this stuff anymore, I blog at *link*’.

    Just a thought.

    ~Dianna

     
  21. Lisa

    May 27, 2010 at 1:43 PM

    @Gabriele

    “I still prefer to screw up myself instead of letting blogger do it for me and then spend an hour trying to find the missing tag.”

    Love it! I tend to work at the lowest levels I can, too, but get frustrated with Blogger and comments. In Firefox I get errors that make no sense. In IE, at least I get an error that I’m not logged into WordPress. Except that I am. So I end up using the URL option as well.

    – Lisa

    http://www.lisaksimone.com/phoneonfire/

     

Leave a Reply

 
