RSS

Spec Fic Subgenre of the Week

04 Oct

I’m a big fan of genre fiction.  It’s pretty much the only type of fiction I read on my own time.  No offense to anyone who reads literary fiction, or “the classics.”  That’s just not my thing.  So I thought I’d do a little series of posts on the different genres in commercial fiction.

Now, the truth is, I read mainly in the spec fic genres, and not so much in crime, mystery, or romance.  While I wish I could do an awesome series of posts on genres across the board, I’m just not knowledgable enough to do that.  So, I’ll have to restrict myself to genres and sub-genres within the spec fic arena.  But that’s okay, because there are an enourmous variety of sub-genres within speculative fiction–commonly divided among fantasy, horror, and science fiction.  I’m not a big horror fan, so that’s out as well.  But for you sci-fi/fantasy maniacs out there, I’m going to do my little series on sub-genres of sf/f.

Now I’ll expain a little bit about how this will work.  Every week, time permitting, I will select a sub-genre to discuss here on the Chimney.  It could be anything, and, at the moment, I don’t plan to go in any particular order.  I will start out with those subgenres I am most familiar with–which will hopefully make it easier later on, when I start to move out of my comfort zone.  The goal of this is to provide a compact resource on sf/f sub-genres.  Why?  Aren’t there a lot of other places you can get this information?  Well, sure, Wikipedia for one.  But from my experience, it is difficult to find anything beyond a general description and a semi-accurate list of books falling into that category.  So, in my vast and infinite knowledge and experience, I am going to codify the simmering morass that is the spec fic genre by describing, explaining, and providing specific examples of each major sub-genre and quite a lot minor ones.

First up is steampunk, one of my favorite subgenres of all time.  I’ll be talking about history, major influences, great books to begin exploring the genre, and whole lots more.  Since this is the first of the series, it will probably be a little less meaty than future posts, but I will be revising older posts as the series evolves.

If you feel I’ve left something out, or have a feature you’d like to suggest for future entries, don’t hesitate to leave a comment.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2009 in Fantasy/Sci-fi, genre, Genre of the Week

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Spec Fic Subgenre of the Week

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

