RSS

Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus

13 Oct

Well, at least according to this article over at the Spearhead, some blog about guys and how society’s makin’ ‘em all into gays.  I guess.

Now, this isn’t really news, as there have already been at least eight wonderful rebuttals across the blogosphere, and some good ole sarcasm.  And, normally, I don’t rant; and I don’t rave; and I don’t discuss sex, sexism, and the American Way.  But this article just ticked me off so much–as did another article it linked to on Big Hollywood.  So, I’m ignoring my usual policy of posting once every two or three days, so that I can indulge in my completely objective, righteous indignation.

Women are ruining science fiction?  Like that old  hag Ursula K. Leguin, right?  Right…  If you say so.

That’s the biggest load of bull I’ve ever heard.  As if men could only enjoy hard sf, and women are only interested in soap operas in space.  Because women have never contributed to science.  And real men don’t watch soap operas.  Or read paranormal romance… or fantasy…or write space opera.  Gotcha Mr. Pro-male/Anti-feminist Tech.  Maybe at least attempt to conceal your bias.  Well, I guess you get points for honesty.

Now, I’m not getting into the BSG debate.  I don’t need that.  I’ve watched both shows, and enjoyed both shows, though I like the new one a little better, or at least, I liked it better for the first few seasons.  I suppose this makes me a Fem-nazi from Venus.  Oh well.  Better than being a Misogynist from Mars.

ETA:  A response to this article has inadvertantly revealed the true feminist agenda.  Click here to find out!

Also, thanks to Whatever and Smart Bitches for pointing this article out to me. 

ETA:  More great responses:

Geek Feminism Blog

http://eumelia.livejournal.com/441106.html

SF Signal

http://mostcuriousthing.com/blog/2009/10/14/geek-rage-a-short-note-on-the-war-on-science-fiction-and-marvin-minsky/

And here, we have how not to respond to an article that is half rant/half hate: http://slog.thestranger.com/slog/archives/2009/10/12/women-gays-apparently-ruining-sci-fi-for-the-rest-of-us

Note:  Please read this follow-up post where I attempt to see the other side of the issue… though I still do not entirely agree.

 

On that note, the next sub-genre of the week post will be up sometime this weekend.  I was going to do Cyberpunk, but I suppose now I should tackle another of my favorite genres:  Space Opera.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2009 in Fantasy/Sci-fi, Gender Issues

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus

  1. ralfast

    October 13, 2009 at 9:58 PM

    Never seen a bigger bunch of self-neutered jerks in my life. What a bunch of idiots.

     
    • atsiko

      October 13, 2009 at 10:02 PM

      Well, when you’re manly and insecure, who else can you blame for your failings but women? Certainly not yourself.

       
  2. ralfast

    October 13, 2009 at 10:16 PM

    Agreed.

     
  3. Shedrick

    October 13, 2009 at 10:42 PM

    Thanks for the link!

     
    • atsiko

      October 13, 2009 at 10:48 PM

      No problem. I link to anything well written and relevant to my topic.

       
  4. Welmer

    October 19, 2009 at 10:39 AM

    In case you’re interested, we have a follow-up post that further explores the feminization of science fiction.

    This one is difficult to argue with, so you might want to gather your thoughts before reading it.

     
  5. atsiko

    October 19, 2009 at 12:48 PM

    It’s certainly an attempt to approach the subject in a more neutral tone, but I still disagree. I will concede that that some men may find your points apply to them, but to suggest that most men do so seems a bit much. I know plenty of men who read and enjoy “feminized” sf, though there are certainly elements of sf/f used by both genders that I do not enjoy personally.

    I also notice a shift from the issue of televised sci-fi, which I think is actually an improvement, as the issue of feminization of TV SF had much less to offer in terms of support for your argument.

    I have removed the link in your post because I am no longer interesed in being dragged into this issue. Not because of any specific behavior on your part, but rather because this is not the main focus of my site. Those who wish to read the follow-up will know that it is there, and may visit without if they wish.

    Thank you for commenting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

